Suggested Reading for 4/12/13

suggestedreadingIt’s been a busy week—I’m presenting this afternoon at DVAEYC’s Annual Conference. (I’m doing a workshop on documentation—here’s my website with some related resources, if you’re interested in that sort of thing.) (And if you’re here for the first time after attending my workshop, welcome! Poke around! You might be most interested in the “Food for Thought” posts…) Anyway, only a couple things for you this week.

To start, a compelling new resource called “Kids in the House.” 8000+ videos, all 1–2 minutes long, from various experts in parenting, on a wide variety of parenting-related topics. Some of their experts are people whose work I admire; many I’ve never heard of. I’ve only scratched the surface of the videos, but I think there’s a lot of valuable stuff here. A 90 second video isn’t going to actually solve a parenting problem for you, but it can be enough to help you find a new perspective, and maybe know whose writings on the topic to look up. (Note: to watch more than 3 videos, you need to sign up for a free account.)

From Train Up A Child, some fine ideas for gross motor play that you can do at home and at school. Handy to have lists of ideas like these around, especially as spring fever gets rolling…

Lots of people are talking about the Common Core Standards these days. I’m slowly starting to sort out what I think about it. I don’t know if this history of Bill Gates’ involvement in the Common Core is entirely accurate, but it’s interesting reading…

That’s it for this week. If you’ve read anything good (or have any comments about the Common Core), please let us know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

